National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

Mike Huber, Post 217 Commander, Charles Seeley, Wyandotte Police Officer of the Year, Chief Brian Zalewski

2019 Policeman of the Year

Wyandotte Michigan Police Department Lieutenant Charles Seeley

Post Commander Mike Huber said Seeley’s strong work ethic, professional uniform appearance, positive attitude, proud service to our nation’s military (serving during Operation Enduring Freedom and the global war on terrorism), and relentless desire to make the Wyandotte Police Department an upper-echelon agency, made him an easy pick for Officer of the Year.

In presenting Seeley with a plaque, Huber announced that he will nominate Seeley for the American Legion, Department of Michigan, Police Officer of the Year program.

If Seeley succeeds in winning at the state level, he would go on to compete in the national program. (excerpt taken from an article written by Jim Kasuba in the New Herald.  For the full article click here)

Each year, The American Legion gives its National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award to a well-rounded law enforcement officer who has exceeded the duty requirements expected of his or her position and has demonstrated a distinct pattern of community service coupled with professional achievement. The award, which especially takes into account heroic acts, is presented annually at the Legion’s national convention.

Department Law and Order Committees are encouraged to select and honor a Law Enforcement Officer of the Year at their conventions. Departments nominate their winners for the national award by submitting an application to The American Legion, Attn: National Security-Foreign Relations Division, 1608 K Street, NW, Washington, DC 20006. Applications must be received no later than Feb. 1. Departments may only submit one nomination per year. Only department winners are eligible for the national award, which should be accepted at the national convention.


Nominees must be U.S. citizens and living, active, full-time and paid, sworn law enforcement officers entrusted with full authority and the powers of arrest. Posthumous awards will be acceptable only if the nominee’s death has occurred after the department’s selection.

Nominees must be assigned to or fully recognized by municipal, county, district or state police; highway patrol; sheriff’s office or as a sworn federal law enforcement officer (FBI, Secret Service agent,

U.S. Marshal, National Park Police, U.S. Capitol Police, etc.) Military police officers or investigators are eligible if they are state law enforcement certified.

Close Menu